Raining men? I’ll get the umbrellas!

Last night I had family dinner out of town. I got into my car and turned on the radio as I started my drive back to my apartment an hour away. As I turned on the radio to the station it was on (typical pop rock station) I realized there was a talk-host on that night (Dawson McAllister).

I was oddly drawn into these calls he was receiving. Listening to their words, their problems. As I began to feel truly sorrowful for some situations and the depravity of the human race, I noticed a theme. Men. I slowly felt my heart sink deeper and deeper into my chest cavity, feeling it push against my stomach and internal organs and oddly I felt it coming out of my throat too.

What Happened To The Human Race?

We have clearly gone wrong. Men of quality… that is what I want. I look for it, strive for it, will settle for nothing less. But what if they are a breed extinct by social media, strong wills, egomania, and cultural code of conduct. Observation has proven time and time again that many men wear the mask of chivalry. But like a brilliant play, every great role must be surrendered at some time… even the most flawless makeup wears off.

I want a man who has ethics that are above everything. Knows right versus wrong and cares about justice. A man who will treat me right and won’t question my fidelity. I will not stop until I have a man who dreams of a strong future and isn’t afraid of the dangerous path that may be a part of his goals for the future. Educated, well dressed, low key, and eloquent. Quality not Cash flow, Standards not trendy. Someone who will keep my attitude and behavior in check, because I can be quite cheeky.

I am off topic.

My point is … where are all of the decent men. The ones who hold hands and hearts with the same tenderness?

Apologizing doesn’t mean that you are wrong and the other person is right. It just means that you value your relationship more than your ego…

It’s a hard thing to look deep down & examine our character. Will we do the right thing, even when no one’s looking? When it’s not convenient? When it’s really hard? Will we do the right things simply because we have to, because it’s who we are because it’s right.

Choices. They are life’s constant. The choice to be brave and push forward. To turn back in retreat. The choice to stand still and watch the world pass you by. Sometimes we tell ourselves that there is no choice, when in fact the exact opposite is true. There is always a choice.

Leave a Reply

