Awkward Poetry

We are all a little awkward and weird… and life is a little awkward. When we find someone whose awkwardness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and sometimes we call it love. And sometimes we run like hell.

Whatever the case may be… I like to embrace it. Recently someone told me that I was “so awkward” and he found it ‘to be simply and utterly attractive in the most bizarre way’ (of course I am paraphrasing, he fumbled it a bit more). I wonder how many people miss out on friendships, relationships, and sparkling poetry merely due to a trepidation to appear absurd. It must be awfully stressful attempting to hide away little pieces of peculiarities day upon day.

I suppose I don’t have much to say at all except let your freak flag fly. Try to embrace your inner ‘geek’ or ‘nerd’ or ‘goofball’ and never let life stress you out too much. Here is an example, I was lost in the woods yesterday for about 4+ hours, meaning my initial 2.5 hour hike turned into a 5 hour trek. My friend and I were both pretty vividly aware that we had lost the ‘right’ path, but we kept on walking. I am so thankful for a friend who will walk beside me and just laugh about life’s little unknown paths.

There is nothing terrible about acting a little off kilter. As a matter of fact, sometimes letting yourself be just exactly the unique and spunky you that you are fulfills way more than hiding the silly parts.

This chair is a perfect example. Weird, abnormal, awkward but absolutely stunning.

_______

To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.  ~e.e. cummings, 1955

Leave a Reply

