musing in the morning

selfish, conceited, you’re stuck in a frame

never dreaming or scheming, you’re content with mundane

you’ve forgotten the smile and have settled on the down

and you live life a lie that makes you seem like a clown.

 

people think you’re unique cause your high class physique

and you wear thick frame glasses to fool all the lasses

but honey I’m not confused I see just who you are

an insecure boy compensating by faking that you’re a star.

 

_______

Look at me, he said to her. His arms and legs jerked. Look at me. You got your wish. I have learned how to love. And it’s a terrible thing. I’m broken. My heart is broken. Help me.
-Kate DiCamillo; Chapter XX, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
Leave a Reply

