Last night I dreamed of snowflakes. You know that sound that can only really be called a ‘non-sound’ if we are being honest? You stand amidst the snow on the ground and flakes quickly falling through a bleach white sky, and you hear nothing. The sounds of the city seem to quiet. As if the snowfall is whispering “hush” into every being. As I sit at my desk I feel my soul begin to be soothed. I look out the window and, alas, my dream came true. The snow is whispering deep in my soul. With the commotion of this week, grad applications, stress, work, belly distress, it is nice to have such a clear inarguable message. Hush now, be still.

_______

My soul speaks: if you don’t understand my silence, how will you understand my words?

Leave a Reply

