shhhh…

Why can’t “I need you” be taken seriously? I hear it whispered in my mind, my heart beats with a gentle ‘come back, come back’. What is all of this longing for? I hide and hide my feelings until I fight. When did we start suppressing all of the things we feel? Telling ourselves that feelings need to be ignored, hidden, silenced? Even my most sincere emotions at times feel like blasphemy because that’s what I’ve been made to know… fact.

Conflict. It’s everywhere you look, it touches everything we do. Every relationship we have. Isn’t it funny how at the core all fights are the same. 2 people, yelling, accusing or running away. Two people doing anything to avoid from telling each other what they really feel. Just talk when you want to run, reveal when you want to attack. It’s so simple, so obvious. And at the same time so incredibly hard.

I get it now, why people don’t talk to each other. It’s intense. You have to be strong. Talking as a means of resolving conflict actually goes against every biological instinct we have. We feel threatened so we fight, or if we don’t have the stomach for that, we run. Sometime we fight because we are unable to tell the other person how we really feel.

‘Just talk when you want to run, reveal when you want to attack. It’s so simple, so obvious. And at the same time so incredibly hard.’

“The course of true love never did run smooth” – William Shakespeare

_______


“Look at me, he said to her. His arms and legs jerked. Look at me. You got your wish. I hav
e learned how to love. And it’s a terrible thing. I’m broken. My heart is broken. Help me.”
– Kate DiCamillo; The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
_______
Leave a Reply

