Jonesing…

Must… Have… Coffee. Tea? Soda? Anything with caffeine.

Okay, no I’m not really that dependent. Sometimes my mind just needs a habit to help it wake up (completely psychological, yes indeed). I woke up, per usual, 20 minutes before I needed to get to work. I did all of my chores and walked to my car. I grasped the handle of my car door and gave it the normal PSI tug. Nothing. “hum… *scratches head*”. I grab the handle again, this time with more force I am able to free it… but the door remains closed. Quite the conundrum. I then notice there is a lovely, thin yet strong layer of ice holding my door closed. Is this natures way of being mad at me… sure I didn’t hike this weekend, but I was outside. Doesn’t that count for something? It was cold. I was baking. These excuses are just that… excuses.

Finally I am able to pry the door open, sweet justice. I continue to heat up my car, kiss my children (dogs) goodbye, and hop into a slowly defrosting car. I think for a moment, how is it that I am not bored of this daily ‘life’  routine?

Get Up. Wash Face. Brush Teeth. Drive to Work. Work. Drive Home. Eat. Sleep.

I wonder what it is that keeps us human beings from being bogged down by the repetition of life. Are we or are we not patently bored, or perhaps just restrained by the boredom that we create in our likenesses? We craft our mannerisms and mechanisms to function specifically and responsibly, being so designed that they do not fluctuate or flutter much in their execution. They perform like clockwork and the sort of steady and predictable results that come of them make a regimented version of human nature that’s nearly bulletproof and completely sick, depressing really. Perhaps variety lies in the little ‘frozen’ moments, like this morning. One thing that throws a kink in my day, while not always pleasant, keeps me ticking. So, as I wipe my eyes this morning and try in vane to make the computer screen less blurry, I am thankful for the unexpected, for “in the midst of difficulty lies opportunity” (albert einstein).

_______

“The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine it. Because it’s only intangible ideas, concepts, beliefs, fantasies, that last. Stone crumbles. Wood rots. People, well, they die, but things as fragile as a thought, a dream, a legend, they can go on forever and ever. ” Chuck Palahniuk


Leave a Reply

